" /> Pacific Westestern Athletic Association

Soccer Players of the Year & All-Stars

Soccer Players of the Year & All-Stars

The PACWEST is pleased to announce the 2016 soccer Players of the Year, Coach of the Year and All-Stars.  

Player of the Year
Women’s – Andrea Perrotta (pictured) – Douglas College Royals – 8 goals, a Conference high
Men’s – Shun Takano (pictured) – VIU Mariners – 4 goals

Rookie of the Year
Women’s – Anastazia Ziros – Langara Falcons
Men’s - Race Williams – Douglas College Royals – 5 goals

Coach of the Year
Women’s - Anup Kang –VIU Mariners. He led the Mariners to a second place finish with 20 points (5-2-5)
Men’s - Paul Dailly – Capilano Blues.  He led the Blues to an undefeated PACWEST season for the first time since the 2011 VIU Mariners.

The PACWEST also announce the 2016 All-Stars.  On the men’s side the top seeded Capilano Blues have four All-Stars followed by three from the second place VIU Mariners.

The men’s 2016 All-Stars are:

Keith Jackson - Capilano University – 13 goals*
Devan Woolley - Capilano University – 1 goal
Kristian Yli-Hietanen - Capilano University – 7 goals
Matteo Serka - Douglas College – 4 goals
Race Williams - Douglas College – 5 goals
Nick Chen - Langara College
Theo Lorenz - Quest University Canada
Victor Blasco - Vancouver Island University – 4 goals
Mateo Kostering - Vancouver Island University
Shun Takano - Vancouver Island University – 4 goals

Goalkeeper Hudson Nelles - Capilano University – 0.47 goals against average*, 6 shutouts*, 5 goals allowed in 11 games.

*Led Conference

On the women’s side the top seeded Douglas College Royals lead the way with four all-stars, while the second place VIU Mariners have three.

The women’s 2016 All-Stars are:

Taylor Einhorn - Capilano University – 5goals
Mikayla Hamilton - Douglas College – 7 goals
Andrea Perrotta - Douglas College  - 8 goals*
Michelle Wessa - Douglas College – 3 goals
Brooke Schlossarek - Langara College – 1 goal
Anastazia Ziros - Langara College
Kelsey Green - Quest University – 4 goals
Chloe Gummer - Vancouver Island University – 6 goals
Rachel Jones - Vancouver Island University – 4 goals
Carli Rey - Vancouver Island University – 2 goals

Goalkeeper - Alexa Gazzola - Douglas College – 0.57 goals against average with four shutouts in eight games played.

*Led Conference

The PACWEST Mike Bartram Fair Play Award has been awarded to a pair of teams that showed tremendous sportsmanship throughout the season.  The Quest Kermodes were named the winner on the women’s side, while the Langara Falcons were named on the men’s side.

The 2016 PACWEST Provincial Championships open on Friday from the Burnaby Sports Complex.